BEEP!

Beep! Beep! Beep!

I’m awake. Sort of. It’s early yet, but I know I have a big day today. Still, I don’t want to move. I reach my , feeling past various objects on my nightstand to reach my alarm, and hit the snooze button. Temporarily satisfied, I turn back away from the alarm. It’s too early to even groan.

Beep! Beep! Beep!

Ugh. It’s still too dark. It’s still too early. I’m still not ready. I don’t turn over any more than absolutely necessary to reach the alarm. I hit the snooze again, then curl the alarm close to me in the bed. At least this way it will be easily within reach when it goes off again. Maybe then I’ll be ready.

Beep! Beep! Beep!

Thankfully the alarm is now right beside me; I barely have to move to reach the snooze button this time. Except… I mash the button again and again, but to no avail. The noise continues to sound. What is wrong with this thing? Oh… yeah. That’s not the alarm lying at my elbow. Last night, in my infinite wisdom, I set a second alarm. Across the room. Crap. It’s still too early for this.

I slide out from under the covers. The cold morning air greets me like an overly-bubbly cheerleader. I am not amused. I quickly cross the room to the other alarm and turn it completely off. I’m not taking any chances; it’s too cold to be getting up repeatedly.

Yes, I am up; I could use the momentum to get started on my day. But all I can think about is how cold the air and the floor are, and I crawl back under the covers.

Beep! Beep! Beep!

There it goes again.

Beep! Beep! Beep!

Nothing seems to be able to stop that noise.

Beep! Beep! Beep!

Where is it coming from this time?

Beep! Beep! Beep!
Beep! Beep! Beep!

Daylight. Oh joy. I’ve slept through my alarm again. One of these days I’m going to figure out how that keeps happening — but today, I don’t have time. I’ve been dreaming, and I’m already running late.

What do you think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

