Fun Size Your Goals!

I saw a tweet over the weekend about enjoying “fun” things life — except, of course, for fun size candy bars. Which, naturally, got me thinking about fun size candy bars. I am supposed to be eating healthy, working on getting in shape for a fundraising run in a matter of weeks. But when I think “fun size,” I think hey — a little bit of goodness is better than none.

The same could be said about our goals. Or rather, our progress toward our goals. Sometimes we bite off more than we can chew with our goals. Our eyes are bigger than our stomachs. (I could go on; I’ve got a million of these.) I don’t know about you, but giant goals can be overwhelming, and not all that fun when you’re just trying to complete a task. But instead of trying to tackle our goals in one fell swoop, or even worse, viewing them as insurmountable and giving up, we can break them down into “fun size” portions. That way we can make progress toward our goals, and still have fun doing it!

For example, I know that if I want to get my story ideas down on paper (or into a computer), I need to write. But sometimes finishing a short story or long book may seem like an insurmountable task, and that takes all the joy out of it. However, I can make a “fun size” goal of short bursts of writing — say, 10-30 minutes a day, depending on my schedule. That keeps it fresh and interesting for me, without being overwhelming along with all the other things on my To Do list. I’m not staring a significant writing period in the face and wondering when I can complete it or what kind of effort I can possibly put into it. Rather, I get a little bit of writing done, feel like I accomplished something, and am inspired for the next time. Now that’s fun!

What about you? What’s something you want to complete, but it seems to be a bit of a mouthful? (Sorry; that’s the last one.) What’s one way you could make your goal “fun size”?

3 thoughts on “Fun Size Your Goals!

  1. This is so true! I do get overwhelmed with the big task and so I end up not doing anything. I like your breaking down the writing into 10-30 minute breaks. I also am learning to have pen and paper nearby in all situations – I never know when an idea comes to life and I don’t want to miss it!

    I am having to re-re-relearn the exercise and healthy eating. But small steps are much more doable.

    • I’ve been using Evernote on my phone to capture my ideas and stuff when I don’t have time to sit down and flesh them out immediately. It’s great to go back to when I need something fresh to talk about!

      • That’s a fantastic idea – I have evernote on my phone so I just need to keep it charged up and ready to go in the case of no pen and paper.

What do you think?

Blog at WordPress.com.

