Fight For My Life

He lunges at me. I can feel the searing pain of his knife in my back. I’ve felt it before; I must get away. I twist as the knife pulls away. He readies his next attack. Spinning to face him, I bring my arm around with all of my might. My fist connects squarely with his jaw, sending him  flying backwards. I will not go down without a fight.

He tumbles head over heels, but lands back on his feet quickly. I’ve barely had time to catch my breath when he swings for me again. But this time I’m ready, stretching away from the blade’s arc before it reaches me. I want to kick it away, but it is too far beyond me, so I scramble back.

His intention is not to kill me, but to immobilize me permanently with his wounds and pain. He’s done so much damage already, but he will not rest until I am through. He must be stopped, for the sake of my health and my sanity. I summon my waning strength and fly at him, knocking the knife away as my grip closes around his throat. We land on the ground, forcing the breath out of me even as I cut it off from him. I fight with everything I have to hold on. My only thought is this: “Die, Dream. Die.”

One thought on “Fight For My Life

What do you think?

Blog at WordPress.com.

