Blackout Poetry

Several weeks ago my fellow blogger Keeks wrote about some newfangled thing called blackout poetry. I had never heard of such a medium as using already printed words to form your own creative output. It’s like sculpting your own poetry from a block of newscopy – or in my case, magazine print. I was intrigued, and made plans to try it out.

Well, many weeks later (sorry Keeks), I’ve finally gotten around to it, and you know what I learned? It’s fun. And thought-provoking. And time-consuming. And I need more interesting magazines. 🙂

If you’re curious about this completely unheard-of way of writing art, check out my tiny production below. Keeks also has a more informative post here. Be warned, though: you might just find yourself picking up more newspapers and magazines just for the articles. 🙂

image

2 thoughts on “Blackout Poetry

  1. Hey! Thank you for the big ol’ mention! I love your poem! I shared it with some of my co-workers and they thought it was awesome too!

  2. very cool! i think this would also work great with my kiddos – make them have to think a little bit 🙂

What do you think?

Blog at WordPress.com.

